Raging Bull

The Dynamis meditation from St. George Cathedral in Witchita this morning struck home with me.

The text was the Gospel for today’s Liturgy, Mark 8:34-9:1, “Whoever desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me.”

What I find in this undertaking is self-will, my rebellious soul that wants its own way.  My inner life is akin to a 2,500 pound Spanish fighting bull, and no one is about to ride such a ‘self’ or to lead it …
My cross is to embrace with the love of the Lord Jesus all whosurround me in life.  Most especially my cross is those who ‘wave red flags’ to provoke the ‘fighting bull’ in me.  God brings into our lives those who aggravate, irritate and inflame our passions to provide opportunities for suffering love.  We do not need to seek in strange places for suffering.  He gives them in the accidents of our residence, financial agreements, social contacts, professional relationships, spiritual fellowships and parish life.
The Lord Jesus shapes each cross to develop the commitment of those He loves, so that they will die to their desires and exhibit His will through words and deeds ….

A few added thoughts:

  • Who waves red flags at your “raging bull”?
  • What would “suffering love” look like with them?
  • Will the world scorn us as “enablers” for our “suffering love”?
  • Is the world’s scorn itself a red flag?
Comments are closed.

